World’s Best Excited for TEC
<-- Previous Page   |  All News

Rodeo’s Elite Cowboys are Ready to Chase the $100,000 Prize for the Winner
March 2, 2015 / Guthrie, Oklahoma – The incentives at the Timed Event Championship of the World are great for the world’s greatest cowboys.
From the challenges set forth through the rugged competition to the opportunity to play their game in one of the most storied arenas in rodeo, the annual championship is a destination for the elite timed-event contestants.
Add into the mix a first-time purse of $200,000 – with $100,000 going to this year’s average winner – and it’s easy to see why 20 men who make up 39 combined gold buckles will be part of the 2015 Timed Event Championship of the World, set for noon and 7:30 p.m. Friday 3/6, noon and 7:30 p.m. Saturday 3/7 and 1 p.m. Sunday 3/8.
“Any time a cowboy can win more money, it’s good,” said Daniel Green, a three-time champion from Oakdale, Calif. “The Timed Event is not an easy deal to win; it’s really difficult. It takes so much that has to go right.
“My hat’s off to the owners for boosting financial support for the event. Being as tough as it is and a World Championship event, it should pay in that range.”
The players compete in five go-rounds and must make runs in heading, tie-down roping, heeling, steer wrestling and steer roping in each. It is dubbed the “Ironman of ProRodeo” because of its rugged nature. Spread over just three days, it’s a test of talent, durability and endurance.
The field includes some of the brightest young stars in rodeo, including reigning champion Paul David Tierney of Oral, S.D., and the 2014 reserve champ, Clay Smith of Broken Bow, Okla.
They’ll test their talent against an amazing list of top cowboys, including Green; 27-time world champion Trevor Brazile of Decatur, Texas, who owns 21 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association titles and a record six Timed Event crowns; five-time winner K.C. Jones of Burlington, Wyo.; two-time titlist Kyle Lockett of Visalia, Calif.; and 2010 champ Josh Peek of Pueblo, Colo.
This is the one event in ProRodeo where the greatest ropers will wrestle steers and where elite bulldoggers and a Linderman Award winner will test their other skills in an action-packed weekend of world-class talent.
The Timed Event Championship is one of the most prestigious events in Western sports. It was developed 31 years ago as a way to decide the greatest all-around timed-event cowboy. Its list of champions is a who’s who of rodeo’s greatest stars. The tradition continues March 6-8 at the fabulous Lazy E Arena.
Families will enjoy all of the activities planned for the performances. Ticket prices are $45 for VIP, box seats $35, reserved bleachers $30 and general admission $25. Children 12 and under are free in general admission and VIP. Group and multiple performance discounts are also available. Tickets can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets,, calling Ticketmaster (800) 745-3000 or by calling the Lazy E Arena directly at (800) 595-RIDE.
This year’s Timed Event Championship of the World will be showcased in an RFD-TV prime-time special Wednesday, March 18th, just a week after this year’s winner is crowned. In addition, a portion of the proceeds from the 2015 Timed Event Championship will be donated to the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.
Country Christian artist Susie McEntire-Eaton and her husband, Mark Eaton, will perform during Cowboy Church, set for 9 a.m. Sunday, March 8, at the Lazy E Arena – the service is open to the public. And back again in 2015, the Lazy E will host the Second Annual TEC Chuckwagon Cook-Off Competition starting Friday with final conclusion and meals open to the public for purchase on Saturday afternoon.
The 2015 Timed Event Championship is sponsored by Priefert Ranch & Rodeo Equipment, Pendleton Whisky, Wrangler, American Farmers and Ranchers Insurance, Nutrena, Miller-Coors, Cox Communications, Bloomer Trailers and P&P Sales, MacroAir, Cross Bar Gallery, Ram Trucks, John Vance Motors, Big Tex Trailers, Western Horseman Magazine, R.K. Black Inc., KLX Energy, Absolute Innovations, Gist Silversmiths, Spin to Win Magazine, National Saddlery, Hot Heels, Rodeo Video, CSI Saddlepads, Sherwin-Williams, RFD-TV, the Best Western Edmond, and the Fairfield Inn & Suites – Edmond.
The 2015 Timed Event Championship is a Lazy E Production. For more information on the Timed Event Championship or other Lazy E events, contact the Lazy E Arena, 9600 Lazy E Drive, Guthrie, OK  73044, (405) 282-RIDE, (800) 595-RIDE or visit
Official Invited Timed Event Championship of the World Contestants
Current Listing and Subject to Change
1.        Paul David Tierney, Oral, South Dakota
2.       Clay Smith, Broken Bow, Oklahoma
3.       Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Oregon
4.       K.C. Jones, Burlington, Wyoming
5.       Daniel Green, Oakdale, California
6.       Clayton Hass, Terrell, Texas
7.       Dustin Bird, Cut Bank, Montana
8.       Landon McClaugherty, Tilden, Texas
9.       Dakota Eldridge, Elko, Nevada
10.    Cody Doescher, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
11.     Trell Etbauer, Gruver, Texas
12.     Erich Rogers, Round Rock, Arizona
13.     Jess Tierney, Hermosa, South Dakota
14.    Shank Edwards, Levelland, Texas
15.     Josh Peek, Pueblo, Colorado
16.    Kyle Lockett, Visalia, California
17.     Jo Jo LeMond, Andrews, Texas
18.    Trevor Brazile, Decatur, Texas
19.    Trevor Knowles, Mt. Vernon, Oregon
20.    Cade Swor, Winnie, Texas